21st August 2021

Superb Sway showing sees off Parley

 Sway 158-5, Parley 154ao

A captain's knock from Tim Noble, who hit an unbeaten 41, and a swashbuckling cameo from Hugh Bernard ensured Sway won their crunch game against fellow high flyers Parley, opening up the possibility of promotion into the Southern League for the first time in the club’s history.

Noble led his side home with a patient and assured knock against a very decent and disciplined Parley attack, before Bernard came to the crease and launched 24 off just 12 balls to ensure Sway chased down 154 with 15 balls to spare.

Will Crossley (27) and Alex Hall had done sterling work to lay the platform for the win, with help from Dan Bailey and David Steadman, before Bernard walked to the crease like a man on a mission smacking his first ball to the boundary and soon after hitting a towering six.

Noble finished off the job alongside Jon Grasham, smacking a lovely cover drive to the boundary to set off wild celebrations.

The batting backed up an assured bowling display, with Jon Waller (2-29) and Steadman (2-31) making some early inroads, Steadman producing a breathtaking catch off his own bowling to dismiss the dangerous Roshan Embalagama.

Marcus Braggington battled hard for the visitors and struck a well-made 47 before hitting the impressive Bernard to Waller in the covers; Bernard took 2-21 to finish with a terrific 27 wickets overall – a total that is likely to make him the league’s most successful bowler in his debut season.

Grasham (1-21) continued his fine form with an assured spell – including dismissing Ollie Green for 35 – while Dan bailey (3-27), mopped up some late wickets to reach 25 for the season.

Sway usurped Parley into second place with the win but do not play again this year; they can however, be caught by Fareham – who now lie third, despite playing only seven games so far this season – and go to St Cross needing a maximum points win.

Sway team - (left to right) Back row. Andy Lee (Groundsman), John Bailey (Umpire) Neil Prince, Josh Bailey, Dan Bailey, David Steadman, Jon Grasham.

Front row (left to right) Graham Symons (Scorer), Chris Noble (Team Coach) Alex Hall, Hugh Bernard, Tim Noble, Jonathan Waller, Will Crossley, Oscar Marshall.