Woodhouse trophy Preview

Sway v Fawley

Sunday 19th July, 2.30 start, Pennington Rec

With Nilantha Atapattu's Sri Lankan festival of cricket at Jubilee Field on Sunday afternoon (which in itself is well worth going along to!), Sway will host Fawley at Pennington in a crucial game in this year's Tony Woodhouse Trophy.

The Tony Woodhouse Trophy was set up in 2003 by Hythe & Dibden with the idea of Hythe using it to bring youngsters into adult cricket. Lawrence Read at Fawley had been doing it for years and together the two clubs invited Beaulieu to form a Triangular Tournament with the sides playing each other once.

After a few trial seasons - In 2007 Sway were asked to join and the three sides have continued to compete ever since with many of their youngsters going on to play First XI cricket for their respective clubs. Over half of Sway's current 1st & 2nd team squads have cut their teeth in this competition. With thanks to Lawrence & Steve Chiverton at Hythe, the competition continues to be played in the spirit, the founder Tony Woodhouse himself, use to enjoy cricket for over fifty years. For the first time in 2015 the title was shared between Fawley & Sway after the final game was rained off.

The destination of the trophy this season is hanging in the balance after Hythe superbly managed to chase down's Sway's total of 264-4 a few weeks ago. A victory over Fawley is likely to set up a cup decider against Hythe on the 10th July, whilst victory for Fawley will put them right back in contention.

Sway will give open age debuts to two of our next generation of young stars on Sunday; Noah Lane-Glass will turn out against the side his dad played for many years and U11 skipper David Elford is the latest in a long line of Drodges and Elford to play cricket in the New Forest.


Woodhouse Trophy Current Tables 2016


Team Pld Won Lost Drawn Bat Bowl Points
Sway 2 1 1 0 10 9 31
Hythe & Dibden 2 1 0 1 5 7 24
Fawley 2 0 1 1 3 5 8


Game 1 ~ Sway 243-5 (22pts) G.Lewis 102*, T.Burton 59*,(Unbeaten 155 partnership) D.Newcombe 2-34, N.Shrive 2-52 Beat Fawley 149 a/o (4pts) A.Freeman 54, N.Shrive 26, K.Coxall 22, G.Lewis 4-31, D.Bailey 2-16, J.Bailey 2-44 by 94 Runs

Game 2 ~ Sway 263-4 (9pts) D.Bailey 102*, N.Brien 47, V.Falso 39, J.Bailey 26*, T.Jones 2-43 Lost Hythe & Dibden 266-7 (19pts) S.Tongs 94, D.Taylor 71 (137 partnership), S.Allport 2-21, D.Bailey 2-37 by 3 Wkts

Game 3 ~ Hythe & Dibden 79-7 (5pts) Sc Rollinson 34, L.Vaughan 12, B.Cooper 2-12 Drew Fawley 104a/o (4pts) B.Cooper 24, L.Coxall 18, L.Vaughan 2-5, J.Holloway 2-16, N.Vaughan 2-30 ~ Match Abandoned


Game 4 19th June Sway vs Fawley
Game 5 3rd July Fawley vs Hythe & Dibden
Game 6 10th July Sway vs Hythe & Dibden


Previous Winners

2015 - Fawley & Sway Tie
2014,13 - Sway
2012,11,10 - Hythe & Dibden
2009 - Sway
2008 - Fawley
2007 - Sway
2006 - Fawley
2005, 04 - Hythe & Dibden
2003 - Beaulieu


Rules of The Competition

•Rules will be the same as normal Sunday Friendly Games with a 2.30 start, 5pm tea and 20 overs in the last hour of play.
•No player who plays in the County Divisions 1-4 will be allowed to play in the competition excluding colts (U17's & below). An exception to this would be the club coach however he may not bowl and must bat 7 or below.
•Teams must consist of at least 6 colts (Under 17 as per New Forest Colts League)
•No bowler to bowl more than 8 overs in the game to enable more people to participate.
•A Winning Side will pick up 12 points
•Bonus points for Batting will be achieved at 100-125-150-175-200.
•For sides batting second winning with wickets in hand. A point will be added (max 5 batting in total) for every 2 wickets in hand
•Bonus Points for Bowling will be achieved at 2-4-6-8 and 10 wickets.
•If a game is postponed because of the weather both sides will collect 6 points.
•If a game is stopped and cannot be finished then